1.8 Million Boxes of Cheerios Cereal Recalled

On Monday, General Mills said that Cheerios products labeled "gluten-free" may contain wheat.
Natalia Ganelin/Shutterstock

General Mills announced yesterday that it is recalling approximately 1.8 million boxes of original Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios. The cereals, which are labeled as gluten-free, could put people with wheat allergies and celiac disease at risk due to a possible wheat contamination.

The company noted that the incident is isolated to one production facility (Lodi, California) and occurred solely because of human error when wheat flour was wrongly introduced into its gluten-free oat flour system.

"We sincerely apologize to the gluten-free community and to anyone who may have been impacted," said Jim Murphy, General Mills senior vice president and president of the cereal division, in a statement. "Please know we'll be working even harder to earn back your trust."

Consumers can contact General Mills at (800) 775-8370 with any questions or to request a refund. General Mills has also posted detailed information on Twitter so that consumers can identify whether or not their box of cereal is involved in the potential contamination.

Caitlin St John is an Editorial Assistant for Parents.com who splits her time between New York City and her hometown on Long Island. Follow her on Twitter: @CAITYstjohn.

It can be hard to notice food-allergy symptoms in babies. Here’s how to tell if your newborn could be suffering from one.


Be the first to comment!

Parents may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.