Mandy Moore with Rapunzel doll

Rapunzel will join the likes of Snow White and Cinderella in the Disney "royal court" this coming October, in a star-studded ceremony literally fitting the notion of royalty, the company announced today.  The celebration will take place at Kensington Palace in London, the birthplace of Queen Victoria and a residence owned by the British Royal Family.  The location was secured through a partnership between Disney and Historic Royal Palaces, an independent charitable organization that receives no funding from the British government or the Crown.

Tiana, the main character from the 2009 movie "The Princess and the Frog" was the most recent princess to join the court.  She was also Disney's first African American princess.

The other 9 Disney princesses are:

  • Ariel (The Little Mermaid)
  • Aurora (Sleeping Beauty)
  • Belle (Beauty and the Beast)
  • Cinderella (Cinderella)
  • Jasmine (Aladdin)
  • Mulan (Mulan)
  • Pocahontas (Pocahontas)
  • Snow White (Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs)
  • Tiana (The Princess and the Frog)