Occasional Visitor
brengstrand
Re: 15 and maybe pregnant
I had my daughter fresh out of high school. I even attended open campus, which are special classes, in my senior year. Thankfully I was able to get a decent job at an attorney's office and the father and I planned on getting married before the surprise (though it didn't happen until she was almost 2). Now my daughter is five and I have a bachelor's degree that I got in 2.5 years. My husband worked all the time so I had to care for her while I did my school work and a lovely neighbor watched her while I attended classes. I worked really hard for it and now I am under review for jobs at places like the Jones Institute and expecting baby number two. My husband and I are still together and, by the end of December, we will have been together for ten years (married for 4 in July). I worked through everything even despite heart problems and other stressors, but I had to fight. At fifteen, I can guess that you haven't had to fight yet, but that doesn't mean it isn't possible.

A baby is a serious responsibility that, if you choose to keep it, you will have to grow up to raise. It has been a great experience having a daughter when I was still young, but also very challenging. You don't need a support system, but you have to be willing to work without one because this will be hard.