Regular Visitor
priscillaohill

My toddler won't hold utensils!

Hi everyone!  I need some advice. My son is almost 28 months and won't hold a spoon or fork to eat any of his meals. I've tried just setting him up with it and walking away but all he does is cry and complain until I come back and feed him. I know he knows how to do it, he's done once or twice in the past. He doesn't go to daycare and I'm a stay at home mom, but soon he will be starting the 3 year old program... Help please?

Posted from Samsung SGH-I497
Please use plain text.
Rincon2128

Re: My toddler won't hold utensils!

Lol, don't worry. He'll see other kids doing it and try it himself. My 7 year old, almost 8, won't hold his utensils correctly to save his life. But I keep telling him to hold them correctly and I'm sure he'll stop sooner or later.

Please use plain text.
kristen12928

Re: My toddler won't hold utensils!

I'm a child feeding expert. From your post I can't do a full assessment. But here's the most common reasons that I see for toddlers not using utensils. Perhaps you'll recognize one of these situations.

1. Medical concern or developmental delay that affects motor skills. You didn't mention this so I think that it's unlikely. But in case other parents are reading this, I wanted to mention it. The solution: An Occupational Therapist (OT) can be a great help to adapt utensils so that kids with different abilities can gain these skills.