New Contributor
daddysgirl1117

Kids and Sports

Hey everyone! I'm new here-- my baby will be here around the middle of May.I have heard a lot of pros and cons to kids being involved with sports. Has anyone had any direct experiences? Even opinions would be helpful as to if you are for it or against it and why. My sister and I were discussing this and I wanted to get some outside thoughts on it. Thanks in advance for your contributions. :smileyvery-happy:

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
cassie186

Re: Kids and Sports

My kids aren't old enough to be involved in sports yet but I work as a horse riding instructor. I think with the current changes in education/ school, with the right schedule and coach, sports can be an excellent privilege for kids. It offers them a chance to interact with their peers, explore new talents and social skills, and of course physical exertion. But sports with the wrong coach, or the wrong attitude on the team, or unrealistic expectations from parents, can also be detrimental. There isn't necessarily anything wrong with a competitive attitude as long as good sportsmanship is also taught and sports aren't being approached with an all or nothing approach.
Posted from Motorola MOTXT912B
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
daddysgirl1117

I have a few years to go before this will directly affect me as well, but I have seen alot of debates on the scoring of these events. I think that as long as the kids are willing to participate and want to be part of a team it could be great for them. Especially since I will be homeschooling. The huge controversy is in the scoring. I'm tempted to believe that if we give everyone an award for showing up, prehaps when they are older they will expect something for minimal effort. Your boss doesn't give you a raise or promotion based upon attendance in most work places, could we be sending the wrong message at this age?

Please use plain text.
ModChristine